D&J Bus Rating & Reviews

55 Reviews

Find and read all the latest D&J Bus reviews from fellow bus travelers. These verified D&J Bus reviews have been submitted from real customers who booked their D&J Bus tickets on GotoBus.com. The customer reviews evaluate D&J Bus service by rating different aspects such as the bus cleanliness, punctuality, staff and bus comfort. We hope you find them helpful! Find out more about the GotoBus customer reviews program - we look forward to your review!

  • Posted on: 2016-11-24
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Rachel
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
It was very easy to find the place, and everything was pretty simple. They have an office and sort of waiting room on the address, the bus stops right at door and it was clear to see where the company was located. There are other companies going to different locations, but they all write on the window so you know which one is yours, not to mention that you just follow the right address and get there, so on the contrary of other reviews here I had no problem with that. The only thing is that for me it was pretty obvious to speak to someone since I only had an email confirmation of my purchase so they could give me the actual ticket. If there's one tip I can give you about this, once you get there, do a "check in". Give them your confirmation number and get your ticket. Pretty obvious, but some people were having issues. The bus arrived 10min before scheduled, but left 30min after. Not a big deal, since I guess they were just confirming the passangers. The bus was clean, but smelled a little off in the beginning. After the AC was turned on the smell disappeared. The AC is not super cold. The wifi is NOT for the web, it's a wifi to access their movies available. Pretty cool, but don't expect what you won't get... The worst part for me: not enough space in between seats and pretty uncomfortable seat. Like an airplane type, but on fabric. The only problem is that my trip was a 15h one, at night. So it added up for my discomfort and how tired I felt. Staff was cordial and pleasant, good driver, great price. Much better than I expected, the only real down side for me was the seat. Maybe it wasn't the regular bus since I traveled right before Thanksgiving, and this wasn't the main bus, but an extra one. Much better than I expected, just be smart and have common sense that you'll have a good trip.
  • Posted on: 2016-11-21
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Dwayne St Bernar
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
I loved the experience see you guys soon
  • Posted on: 2016-11-06
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Wilson T. Silva
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Thanks! The bus must go on.
  • Posted on: 2016-11-05
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Adeoluwa
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
I had to request a refund on inbound trip bc was cancelled (Friday). Was told that route only ran during summer. :(
  • Posted on: 2016-10-06
  • Depature: South Bend, IN
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: JAtinder singh
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2016-08-18
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Milan
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2016-07-14
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Uli resendiz
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Bathroom have cleaned make the bus too smell of urine
  • Posted on: 2016-07-05
  • Depature: South Bend, IN
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Jatinder singh
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Thanks! 😊 Will book with you again!
  • Posted on: 2016-07-04
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: South Bend, IN
  • Name: Gerard
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Thank you
  • Posted on: 2016-07-04
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Caroline Gunawan
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
When I booked, it has wifi, but it turned out no wifi. Please do not have wifi icon, when you guys do not even provide wifi.
  • Posted on: 2016-06-20
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Jonathan
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
The bus was dirty, and smelt bad. All the rubbish bags were full. It broke down two hours outside Chicago. None of the bus drivers could speak a word of English. Luckily a passenger from Hong Kong translated. We had to wait until 11am the next morning for a bus to come with a spare part. There was no offer of a room, or a refund. In the end I checked in at a motel for usd 70. It was 11.30 pm. A Car arrived to pick up the druvers. No one stayed to look after bus or passengers. I have a mind to complain to the authority.You should treat your clients better or they will all complain. No stars from me.
  • Posted on: 2016-05-19
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Milan
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2016-04-24
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Milan
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2016-01-26
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Sholeh
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
I did not appreciate that we had to walk in the slush and mess post Blizzard, with our baggage several blocks over to catch the bus. The Boarding address on the confirmation was not even close to where the pick up location was so we had to follow the lady who led us to the pick up location.....I found that very inconvenient and unusual. Nice people in general but my recommendation is to make sure where the pick up location is before you go.
  • Posted on: 2016-01-08
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Iury
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
The bus didn't stop in the place that it should. The power outlets didn't work.
  • Posted on: 2015-12-07
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Dagbo
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Leaving from new york is chaotique, bus does not come on time and travelers are waiting for long time outside in the cold
  • Posted on: 2015-12-06
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Milan
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-12-06
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Milan
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-12-01
  • Depature: Gary, IN
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Zach
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
The service was good and the travel was roughly on schedule. The only negative aspect was that the bus didn't have clear signage and riders like me were unsure if it was the correct bus at first. The staff could have done better to announce the bus and confirm passengers.
  • Posted on: 2015-12-01
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Omri Ariav
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-11-30
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Arunima Gupta
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-11-29
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Alice Wong
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
They should have said announcements stating when the bus was going to stop.
  • Posted on: 2015-11-29
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Alice Wong
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
There should have been an announcement or roster stating that the bus was going to be in the certain location.
  • Posted on: 2015-11-26
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Omri Ariav
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-11-23
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: South Bend, IN
  • Name: Tova Yachnes
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Bus was fairly clean - smelled bad near restroom, someone was smoking. No sink on bus. Problem: At times I was confused what was going on - no one spoke/understood English well enough to help me. If you want to cater to American passengers, English communication must improve. There was major confusion regarding where to wait for bus. We were waiting at 156 E. Broadway, but were then taken on a confusing hike several blocks away, and even then we weren't sure if we were in the right place. Also, it was cold outside and there was no where to wait inside. Otherwise bus was quiet, basically efficient and clean and the price was good.
  • Posted on: 2015-11-02
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Listya Manopo
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
great, affordable and on time
  • Posted on: 2015-10-09
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Ashleigh Morpeau
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-10-05
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: sekou sannor
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
my trip from chicago to new york was fantastic and the ride was courageous. i will recommend any friends or families to ride with your buses. not even the trip, i was also given a discount on my round trip. i was little bite kind of depress because, the bus didn't get enough passengers for the round trip and i know the company have to spent on fuel,e-zpass as well as motel for drivers. however, nevertheless you are going to gain all these in time to come.it's business you have to keep it moving.well this is the little experience that i have with D & J bus during my round trip. thank you.
  • Posted on: 2015-09-14
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Sze-Chin Lee
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Comfortable ride. Staff were very friendly and courteous :)
  • Posted on: 2015-09-12
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Ernesto
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
this kind of bus is not bad for the price compared to the other options, punctuality is good, but the address and check in proceeds are really different kind of informal, i wouldn't recommend it of someone used to take buses at very bus station, just for backpackers or low budget travellers.
  • Posted on: 2015-09-10
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Denzel
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Ride was fast I got here ontime
  • Posted on: 2015-08-30
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Spencer Scott
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Bus left Chicago half an hour late. We arrived in New York about an hour late. But all in all, the trip went smoothly. The drivers were professional and made sure all the passengers were back in the bus before leaving rest stops.
  • Posted on: 2015-08-26
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: sarah charles
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
the driver was not friendly at all. when we ask when the bus suppose to leave and if we can put our baggage under the bus, he said we have to wait outside the bus while people was already sitting on the bus. The driver put the air conditioner very high everybody was freezing we ask him many time to put it down but he won't lister, this happen on tuesday august 25, 2015 the bus that left chicago at 8pm to new york.
  • Posted on: 2015-08-18
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Chimanbhai
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
So cheap and convenient
  • Posted on: 2015-08-18
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Bhadresh Patel
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-08-17
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Bhadresh Patel
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-08-16
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Ervin Kearney
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-08-13
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Gregory Idler
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-08-05
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Selacy
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Horrible bus was extremely late. Uncomfortable chairs. Some patron behind me had the smellest feet. Positive--phone chargers working.
  • Posted on: 2015-08-02
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Wiktor
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
At one point we had to switch to a different bus, which we were informed about in Chinese. If it wasn't for another passenger, we would have missed it.
  • Posted on: 2015-08-02
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Wiktor
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
The bus left two hours left and arrived late as well. Other than that, it was ok.
  • Posted on: 2015-07-29
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Autumn Bratcher
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
I am satisfied
  • Posted on: 2015-07-27
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Isabel Lin
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Safe enough of a ride. Left Chicago 1/2 hr after stated departure time. There wasn't any major traffic at all but we were still 2 hrs + late to NYC causing a loss of a work day. Bus temperature was comfortable and thank God, the usb plugs were working but still no wifi- not even a network detected..
  • Posted on: 2015-07-27
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Isabel Lin
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Recommend for a safe enough ride. NO advertised amenities. No wifi or outlets or usb plugs- not good for a 12hr ride. After the last rest stop/ bathroom break, no more A/C and got stuffy. Staff had to open up the roof vents. Bathrooms were reeked horribly.
  • Posted on: 2015-07-20
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: kathleen
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
no wi-fi, dirty toilet, not on time approachable driver
  • Posted on: 2015-07-20
  • Depature: Gary, IN
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Musa D.
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Transfer Bus to NYC had no Air Conditioner. It was very hot and miserable.
  • Posted on: 2015-07-15
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Athena Matsil
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
  • Posted on: 2015-07-08
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Jennifer
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
There was no toilet paper to use the bathroom and the air kept going off
  • Posted on: 2015-07-06
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Piyush sheladiya
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
I will recommend this bus for the fair they charge to take you to your destination.
  • Posted on: 2015-07-05
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: J
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
I didn't take this trip with Gotobus because my Amtrak train connection was 5 hours late, the WiFi was not working on the train, and the Gotobus phone lines were too busy to change my reservation.
  • Posted on: 2015-07-04
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: devender puri
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
announcements on board the bus are very poor.when buses are stopping at any point there is no mention of the stop neither is one informed how long are we stopping for.Also the drivers need to speak more and better english
  • Posted on: 2015-07-01
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Steven
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Location was hard to find,other than that best bus ride ever.
  • Posted on: 2015-06-16
  • Depature: Chicago, IL
  • Arrival: New York, NY
  • Name: Didi
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Bus schedule need to be more accurate. Please update if its going to stop here n there please mention it on the website. Plus there is no WiFi on the bus. On the website they said WiFi included.
  • Posted on: 2015-06-16
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: Christopher Agui
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
Everything mostly fine on the trip from NYC to Chicago but the second driver that switched in has been on his phone the last few hours talking and looking at his phone. I can tell whenever he is actually looking at it instead of the road because the bus slows down and starts swerving a bit and sure enough he has it in his hands texting and calling.
  • Posted on: 2015-06-15
  • Depature: New York, NY
  • Arrival: Chicago, IL
  • Name: moses
  • Star ratings:
  • Bus Cleanliness:
  • Punctuality:
  • Service & Staff:
  • Comfort:
I recommend this bus!
The bus smells
    D&J Bus review summary
  • Total Number of Reviews55
  • Overall Raiting2.9
  • Bus Cleanliness3.1
  • Punctuality2.8
  • Bus Service & Staff3.0
  • Bus Comfort2.7
  • Recommend Yes50.5%
  • GotoBus.com is an independent online bus ticketing company that is not involved in any bus operations